General Synod

The General Synod, which comprises a House of Bishops, a House of Clergy and a House of Laity, with representatives from all English Dioceses, meets two to three times a year to consider legislation for the Church of England, along with worship and matters of national and international importance. 

Each diocese is represented by their diocesan Bishop, in our case the Bishop of Hereford and by clergy representatives elected by the clergy of the diocese, together with lay representatives elected by deanery synod members.

House of Bishops
  • Rt Revd Richard Jackson
House of Clergy
  • The Ven Fiona Gibson
  • Revd Chris Moore
  • Revd Neil Patterson
House of Laity
  • Wendy Coombey
  • Charles Houston
  • Emily Hill

Other Governance Committees and Groups

Each area across England is divided into what are called a diocese. These are areas that have their own separate structures of governance, finance and organisation.  In Hereford Diocese, we cover a geographic area that goes beyond county boundaries and takes in parts of Powys, Monmouthshire, Worcestershire as well as south Shropshire and the whole of the county of Herefordshire. 

Powered by Church Edit