Bishop's Council

Image of a church

The HDBF directors/trustees are the members of the Bishop’s Council which takes the lead on matters of diocesan strategy. The directors are responsible for ensuring compliance by the HDBF with legislation in areas such as employment law, Health & Safety and risk management. Also known as the Standing Committee of Diocesan Synod, the Bishop's Council additionaly serves to:

  • Plan the business of the Diocesan Synod, to prepare the agenda for its sessions and to circulate to members information about matters for discussion;
  • Initiate proposals for action by the Synod and to advise it on matters of policy which are placed before it;
  • Advise the President on any matters which he may refer to the Committee;
  • Subject to the directions of the Synod to transact the business of the Synod when it is not in session;
  • Appoint members of the committees or nominate members for election to committees, subject to the directions of the Synod;
  • Carry out such other functions as the Synod may delegate to it.


Ex Officio Members:
  • Diocesan Bishop - The Rt. Revd. Richard Jackson 
  • Archdeacon of Hereford - The Ven. Derek Chedzey
  • Archdeacon of Ludlow -  The Ven. Fiona Gibson
  • The Dean of Hereford - Very Revd. Sarah Brown
  • Chair of the House of Clergy - Revd. Preb. Ashley Buck
  • Chair of the House of Laity - David Clements
  • Chair of the Board of Finance - Revd. Jane Rogers
  • Chair of the Board of Education - The Ven. Fiona Gibson

Elected members:

Elected clergy, three required:
  • Revd. Preb. Stephanie Fountain
  • Revd Dr. Guy Cole
  • Revd. Greg Smith
Elected laity, three required:
  • Andrew Wood
  • Jo Beavan
  • Mike Teague
Skills nominees: 
  • Marion Shuttleworth 
  • Matthew Hall
  • Nigel Sellar
  • Garry Ward 
Bishop's invitation 


In attendance: 
  • Diocesan Secretary, Sam Pratley

Powered by Church Edit