Diocesan Structure

We have 420 churches in 356 parishes divided between 13 deaneries within two archdeaconries and we are led by the Bishop of Hereford.

Our Diocesan governing body is Diocesan Synod. 

All members and representatives listed in our structure can be contacted via the Diocesan Directory

Diocesan Synod

The members of Diocesan Synod are the Bishop of Hereford,the Suffragan Bishop (the Bishop of Ludlow/Archdeacon of Ludlow, the Dean, the Archdeacon  of Hereford, clergy and lay members of General Synod, the Chairmen of the Boards of Finance and Education and the Diocesan Advisory Committee and the Chancellor of the Diocese.

Further members are elected by deanery synods, with up to 10 members nominated by the Bishop and a few places available for co-option. Elections take place every three years. Synod considers matters relating to the diocese and to the Church of England, including matters referred to it by the Bishop or by General Synod.

Although technically two separate bodies, membership of the Hereford Diocesan Synod is coterminous with that of the Hereford Diocesan Board of Finance, and election is to both.

The next election will be in 2021. A list of current members is available from the Diocesan Office on request.

Click here to find the Diocesan Synod minutes

Click here to find the Diocesan Synod addresses


Also known as the Standing Committee of Diocesan Synod


•to plan the business of the Diocesan Synod, to prepare the agenda for its sessions and to circulate to members information about matters for discussion;

•to initiate proposals for action by the Synod and to advise it on matters of policy which are placed before it;

•to advise the President on any matters which he may refer to the Committee;

•subject to the directions of the Synod to transact the business of the Synod when it is not in session;

•to appoint members of the committees or nominate members for election to committees, subject to the directions of the Synod;

•to carry out such other functions as the Synod may delegate to it.


Ex Officio Members:

Bishop of Hereford: Rt Revd R M C Frith
Bishop & Archdeacon of Ludlow: Rt Revd A Magowan
Dean: Very Rev M E Tavinor
Archdeacon of Hereford: Ven D C Chedzey
Chair of the House of Laity: RAdm P Wilcocks
Chair of the House of Clergy: Revd S H Cawdell
Chairman of the Board of Finance: Revd J Rogers
Vice Chair of the Board of Finance: Mr C Smith
Chairman Diocesan Board of Education: Mr S Borthwick
Chairman Diocesan Advisory Committee: Mrs J Marston

Lay Representatives:
Mr P J A Darling (Ross & Archenfield)
Mr P F W Pember (Ross & Archenfield)
RAdm P L Wilcocks (Abbeydore)

Clergy Representatives:
Revd W A Buck (Ludlow)
Revd Dr C Moore (Hereford)
Revd N Patterson (Ross & Archenfield)
Revd S Jones (Ross & Archenfield)

Bishop's Nominees:
Lady Darnley (Bishop's Nominee)
Mr A Evans (Abbeydore)
Revd T Mason (Bridgnorth)

In Attendance:
Diocesan Secretary

Diocesan Board of Finance Executive (DBF)

Also known as The Standing Committee of the Diocesan Board of Finance (DBFX)

Ex Officio Members:
Bishop of Hereford: Rt Revd R M C Frith
Bishop & Archdeacon of Ludlow: Rt Revd A Magowan
Archdeacon of Hereford: Ven D C Chedzey
Stewardship Officer & IDFF Representative*: Canon R K Lording
*Inter Diocesan Finance Forum

Elected Members:
Revd L Cronin (Telford Severn Gorge)
Mr N Hone (Ledbury)
Mr C W Hunter (Abbeydore)
Mrs S Lewis (Ross & Archenfield)
Mr A Mence (Ledbury)
Revd J Rogers (Abbeydore) [Chairman]
Mr C Smith (Kington & Weobley) [Vice Chairman]
Mr C J Whitmey (Hereford)
Mrs J Woodruffe (Condover)

In Attendance:
Diocesan Secretary
Director of Finance
Property Secretary

Diocesan Synod approved a new governance structure which will replace the existing Bishop's Council and DBFX at the end of 2018.  The current BC and DBFX membership remain in place to the end of 2019; election to the new body is underway (autumn 2018) and details will be shown on here in due course.

Vacancy in See Committee

The new membership detailed below will take over from 1 January 2019.


Bishop of Ludlow, Rt Revd Alistair Magowan
Archdeacon of Hereford, The Ven Derek Chedzey
Dean of Hereford, Very Revd Michael Tavinor
Chair of the House of Clergy, Revd Preb Simon Cawdell
Chair of the House of Laity, Philip Willcocks (Chair)

Clergy members of General Synod:
Revd Laura Dalton
Revd Neil Patterson

Lay members of General Synod:
Wendy Coombey
Liz Bird
Martin Elcock

Elected Members 

Elected clergy (at least two):
Revd Ruth Hulse
Revd Preb Ashley Buck

Elected laity (at least two):
Kay Askew
Nat Hone
Mark Simmons
Chris Smith
Christopher Whitmey

Nominated members:
Clergy - Revd Rachel Robertson, Revd Kina Robertshaw, Revd Alison Walker
Lay - Kate King

Archdeaconry and Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committees (MPCs)

Chaired by the Archdeacon and staffed by the Diocesan Pastoral Secretary and the Diocesan Mission (MAP) Development Officer, these committees have a key role in leading mission and financial growth in the diocese. Through their annual cycle the meetings enable Rural Deans and Lay Co-Chairs in mission networking, mutual accountability, decision making, sharing learning and replicating success.

November MPCs annually:

  • Prepare for Statistics for Mission and finance returns
  • Focus on the particular emphases for shared planning for coming year

February MPCs annually:

  • Review mission action taken and outcomes from year past; identify action in response

June MPCs annually:

  • Digest, learn from, request diocesan action in the light of updated deanery plans
  • Diocesan shared Mission Action Plans, outcomes and implications to annual July Diocesan Synod.

The functions of the Archdeaconry M & P Committees will from 2019 become functions of the new Bishop's Council instead.

General Synod

The General Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

Each diocese is represented in by their diocesan Bishop, in our case the Bishop of Hereford and by clergy representatives elected by the clergy of the diocese, together with lay representatives elected by deanery synod members.

General Synod elections are every five years with six people elected in Hereford Diocese on the 2015-20 General Synod. They are:

Clergy: Laura Dalton, Simon Cawdell, Neil Patterson
Laity: Elizabeth Bird, Wendy Coombey, Martin Elcock

How General Synod works