Our Leaders

The Bishop of Hereford, The Rt Revd Richard Jackson

Bishop Richard was enthroned on March 21st 2020 as the 106th Bishop of Hereford at Hereford Cathedral. 

The Bishop of Ludlow and Archdeacon of Ludlow, The Rt Revd Alistair Magowan

Bishop Alistair Magowan

Alistair Magowan was consecrated as the Suffragan Bishop of Ludlow in St Paul's Cathedral on 29th September 2009. 

He assists the work of the Bishop of Hereford in the Diocese and is also the Archdeacon of Ludlow, which includes the Deaneries of Ludlow, Clun Forest, Bridgnorth, Condover, Pontesbury and Telford Severn Gorge. 

He lives within his archdeaconry and is married to Louise, a self-supporting assistant minister in the Parish of Church Stretton

Archdeacon of Hereford, the Ven Derek Chedzey

Archdeacon Derek Chedzey

As Archdeacon of Hereford, Derek has a particular emphasis on supporting parishes in the Hereford Archdeaconry, but as a member of the Bishop's Staff team he also has input in empowering all of our church members to Proclaim Christ and Grow Disciples.

Hereford will be the fourth diocese that Derek has been called to serve in. He was ordained in Oxford Diocese before moving to Exeter and Bristol dioceses. 

Derek was previously Head of Ministry Development and a member of the Bishop’s Staff at Bristol Diocese and Residentiary Canon in Bristol Cathedral (Diocesan Canon). He also concurrently carried out an unpaid parish priest role as a Self-Supporting Minister in Yate.

He lives in Hereford with his wife Claire, who is a Reader.