Our two archdeaconries are split into more local deaneries. These are groups of parishes under the guidance of a Rural Dean (a senior member of clergy). Each deanery also has a Lay Co Chair, a Secretary and a Treasurer.


Deaneries are made up of benefices (groups of parishes). Below is a list of the separate deaneries and the benefices which make them up.

Hereford Archdeaconry


  • The Black Mountains Group
  • Ewyas Harold with Dulas, Kenderchurch, Abbeydore, Bacton, Kentchurch, Llangua, Rowlestone, Llancillo, Walterstone, Kilpeck, St Devereux and Wormbridge
  • The Cagebrook Parishes
  • Madley with Tyberton, Peterchurch, Vowchurch and Turnastone ("Wyedore")
  • Cusop with Blakemere, Bredwardine with Brobury, Clifford, Dorstone, Hardwicke, Moccas and Preston-on-Wye ("Border Link Parishes")


  • The Frome Valley Group of Parishes
  • Bromyard and Stoke Lacy
  • Bredenbury
  • Edvin Loach with Tedstone Delamere, Tedstone Wafer, Upper Sapey, Wolferlow and Whitbourne ("The Parish of Greater Whitbourne")


  • The West Hereford Team Ministry
  • Hereford South Wye ("The South Wye Team Ministry")
  • Hereford St Peter with St Owen and St James
  • Holmer with Huntington
  • Tupsley with Hampton Bishop
  • Bodenham, Felton, Preston Wynne, Marden with Amberley and Westeston, Sutton St Nicholas and Sutton St Michael ("The Maund Group of Parishes")
  • Burghill (part of the "Burghill Group")
  • Stretton Sugwas (part of the "Burghill Group")
  • Magnis Group Benefice
  • Fownhope with Mordiford, Brockhampton and Fawley and Woolhope
  • Lugwardine with Bartestree, Withington with Westhide, Weston Beggard and Dormington ("The Bartestree Cross Group")
  • Pipe-cum-Lyde and Moreton-on-Lugg (part of the "Burghill Group")

Kington and Weobley:

  • Eardisley with Bollingham and Willersley, Brilley, Michaelchurch, Whitney, Winforton, Almeley and Kinnersley
  • Kington with Huntington, Old Radnor, Kinnerton and Titley ("The Kington Parishes")
  • Letton with Staunton-on-Wye, Byford, Mansel Gamage and Monnington-on-Wye
  • Weobley with Sarnesfield and Norton Canon
  • Arrowvale Group of Parishes
  • Presteigne with Discoed, Kinsham, Lingen and Knill


  • Colwall with Upper Colwall and Coddington
  • Cradley with Mathon and Storridge
  • Ledbury and Eastnor
  • The Hop Churches
  • The Cider Churches


  • Kingsland with Eardisland, Aymestrey and Leinthall Earles "The Mortimers Cross Group of Parishes"
  • Canon Pyon with King's Pyon, Birley and Wellington
  • Leominster ("Leominster, Team Ministry")
  • Wigmore Abbey

Ross and Archenfield:

  • Arconium
  • Wye Reaches Group
  • The Benefice of Ross with Walford and Brampton Abbotts
  • The Benefice of Stow Caple (Previously 'Brampton')
  • Goodrich, Marstow, Welsh Bicknor, Llangarron, Llangrove and Welsh Newton with Llanrothal
  • St Weonards (part of the "Archenfield Group Ministry")
  • Wormelow Hundred (part of the "Archenfield Group Ministry")

Ludlow Archdeaconry


  • Alveley and Quatt
  • Ditton Priors with Neenton, Burwarton, Cleobury North, Aston Botterell, Wheathill and Loughton, and Chetton
  • Stoddesdon with Farlow, Cleeton St Mary, Silvington, Sidbury and Middleton Scriven.
  • Bridgnorth and Morville Parishes Team Ministry: Acton Round, Astley Abbotts, Aston Eyre, Bridgnorth, Monkhopton with Upton Cressett, Morville, Oldbury, Quatford and Tasley
  • Claverley with Tuckhill
  • Highley with Billingsley, Glazeley and Deuxhill and Chelmarsh
  • Worfield

Clun Forest:

  • Bishop's Castle with Mainstone, Lydbury North and Edgton ("The Ridgeway Group") including Sarn
  • The Middlemarches Benefice
  • The Clun Valley Benefice
  • Churchstoke with Hyssington and Sarn ("Onny Camlad" - not Sarn)
  • Wentnor and Ratlinghope with Myndtown, Norbury, More, Lydham and Snead ("Onny Camlad")


  • Condover with Frodesley, Acton Burnell and Pitchford
  • Church Stretton with All Stretton and Little Stretton
  • Dorrington with Leebotwood, Longnor, Stapleton, Smethcote and Woolstaston ("Steeplewood Fold Benefice")
  • The Apedale Group Benefice
  • Halford with Sibdon Carwood (part of "The Craven Arms Group")
  • Stokesay (part of "The Craven Arms Group")
  • Wisthanstow and Cwm Head (Part of "The Craven Arms Group")
  • Acton Scott (part of "The Craven Arms Group")
  • Wenlock "Wenlock Team Ministry"


  • The Tenbury Team Ministry
  • The Ashfords Benefice
  • The Benefice of Bromfield
  • The Benefice of Ludlow
  • Cleobury Mortimer with Hopton Wafers, Neen Sollars and Milson, Neen Savage with Kinlet and Doddington
  • The Corvedale Benefice
  • Abdon


  • Chirbury, Marton, Middleton and Trelystan with Leighton
  • Ford, Great Wollaston and Alberbury with Cardeston ("The Ford Group")
  • Great Hanwood, Longden and Annscroft with Pulverbatch
  • Minsterley, Habberley and Hope with Shelve ("The Stiperstones Benefice")
  • Pontesbury
  • Westbury, Worthen and Yockleton

Telford Severn Gorge

  • Broseley with Benthall and Jackfield, Linley with Willey and Barrow
  • Coalbrookdale, Ironbridge and Little Wenlock
  • Madeley Team Ministry