You are here » Home» Churchwork» Mission and Ministry Development» Continuing Ministerial Development» Five Marks for Mission

The Five Marks of Mission


The Five Marks of Mission were developed by the Anglican Consultative Council in 1984 and affirmed by Archbishops of the Anglican Communion at the Lambeth Conferences in 1988 and 1998. The Church of England's General Synod adopted them in 1996 and Churches of other denominations have also adopted them.

The Marks enable Christians of different countries and cultures, dioceses, deaneries, denominations and churches to have a common focus as they share in God's mission in the world.

The five marks briefly:

1. To proclaim the good news of the Kingdom

Proclamation may be in words - effective communication of the Gospel - but also in actions, by living the Good News we preach.

Download Mark 1 Resource Card

2. To teach, baptise and nurture new believers

Christian discipleship is about lifelong learning, so we all need formal and informal resources for growing in faith, so that the Church is a learning environment for all ages.

Download Mark 2 Resource Card

3. To respond to human need by loving service

Churches have a long tradition of care through pastoral ministry. Christians are called to respond to the needs of people locally and in the wider human community.

Download Mark 3 Resource Card

4. To seek to transform unjust structures in society

Jesus and the OT prophets before him challenged oppressive structures in God's name. Christians should not only press for change, but also demonstrate justice within Church structures.

Download Mark 4 Resource Card

5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation, and sustain and renew the life of the earth

The Bible's vision of salvation is universal in its scope. We are called to promote the well being of the human community and its environment, so that Creation may live in harmony.

Download Mark 5 Resource Card


Exploring the Five Marks of Mission in Lent 2011

The Diocese produced material for parishes to use in Lent 2011 to explore the Five Marks of Mission. Follow this link to Marking Lent Materials.

©2009 Website Design & Development acms content management system Content Management
Content © The Hereford Diocese 2009